Sunday arvo catch-up

Here’s the latest from the MMBCC...

Congratulations Jodie!

JB 778388p19047EDNmain43904Jodie (1).jpg

The MMBCC’s Jodie Batchelor has been awarded the 2019 Iris Dixon Women’s Cycling Champion of the Year by Cycling Victoria.
It’s been a big 12 months… first qualifying as an Elite National Commissaire, then being awarded a Change Our Game Scholarship to further her qualifications and experience and now this!
Read about Jodie’s award here.

Social road ride, King Valley - Sunday 17 March

Two groups leaving from Mansfield Botanic Park to ride to Whitfield; one at 8am and a slightly faster one at 9am.
Those wanting an easier shorter ride are meeting at the Whitfield General Store at 10am to ride out to Lake William Hovell and back.
Lunch will be at Gracebrook Winery. Menu will likely be a choice of grazing platters, depending on numbers. But you have to earn the wine! And the whine.
Either ride back or organise your own lift.
RSVP with Margaretanne Hood either via email or send her an SMS on 0417 389 249.

Dirt Crits Gravity Enduro

Two different courses used on Tuesday night in three separate timing classes; times for both runs were combined to give a total time.
Wins to Matt Empey, Adam Baker and Elise Empey. Here are the results and thanks to Jason Parker for the pics.

Bakker Plumbing Handicap

By Jarrod Appleton.

Last week’s MMBCC road race was a special event in our season calendar. The Bakker Plumbing Handicap is a 28km race from Jamieson past Kevington to the turn around at Sailor Bill’s Creek and back to Jamieson.
Participants were treated to ideal race conditions with perfect weather, great scenery and quiet roads.
The handicapping was very accurate resulting in all riders converging at the finish line over the space of two minutes.
Line honours went to Tony Morris followed by Courtney Lynch who were the outmarkers. Storming across the finish line only thirty-five seconds later was a large group of riders consisting of the Scratch and ‘Block groups.
The winner of the bunch sprint of this group was the sprint juggernaut of the season, Anthony Plummer, taking third place overall. He narrowly beat Lewis Dowie, relegating him to fourth and Tom MacMunn in fifth.
Lewis supplemented his fourth-place winnings by claiming the fastest rider cash.
After the race all participants, riders, marshals and commissaires (umpires) enjoyed the prizegiving over drinks and a meal at the Courthouse Hotel, Jamieson.
Here are the results and thank you to our budding, new photographer, Cam Dobson for the images (better at photography than navigation, apparently.)