Thursday 19 January - TTT, Whitfield Road.

With a few regular members away at the Tour Down Under and the prospect of a challenging team time trial, only eighteen cyclists fronted up for the 25km race last Thursday.
First away was Tony Williams, Dave Clark and Geoff Jones followed by the next group of Mark Ross, Allan Gerrans, Alain Guerin and David Bock. John Eisner, Mick Feeney, Tony Ryan and Di Condie made up group three while Mark Calvert-Jones joined Stefan Vaivars, Rob Greenway and Darren Bakker after his narrow win last week ( that'll teach him). Finally the scratch group of Bruce Halket, Andrew Gerrans, Jock Brega and Josh Hopwood took to the road.
With a blustery south westerly adding to tactical considerations, the team of Feeney et al rode quite well to the three quarter mark, passing Williams and Ross's groups until Ryan sustained a puncture with 4km to go and the team arrived in third place.
Calvert-Jones did well to hang onto his new group who applied the pressure to come in, in second place but it was the time trial specialists of Halket, Brega, Gerrans and Hopwood who  rode a hot 38'25'' to take out the win for the evening.
Speaking of the Tour Down Under, the club was very proud to see life-member Simon Gerrans take the win. Well done Simon!

This week's race is a longer, 30km handicap. Entries to Di by 8pm Wednesday please.

Results - CLICK HERE.